Mercury Prize 2016

Albums of the year

2016 was a landmark year for the UK’s most prestigious music prize, and not just because they were celebrating their silver anniversary. For the first time ever, the Mercury Prize panel whittled down the 12 shortlisted albums to a final five, and allowed fans to select the sixth finalist. The 1975 won the public vote, but it was Skepta who eventually took home the prize, for his magnificent fourth album Konnichiwa. Check out all the nominated albums below.

The shortlist

  • Michael Kiwanuka - Love & Hate
    • 16-bit FLAC

    As dream career beginnings go, it doesn’t get much better than winning the BBC Sound Of poll, bagging a Mercury Prize nomination, and being invited to open for Adele and collaborate with Kanye. Conversely, this chain of events actually sent Michael Kiwanuka into a spiral of self-doubt post-Home Again. We can only be thankful he rallied, because this follow-up is as fascinating an examination of struggles with confidence and trust as you’ll hear this year, plus Kiwanuka’s decision to secure Danger Mouse to perform production duties proves an inspired move. From the wistful, string-driven sprawl of the title-track to gospel-inspired single ‘Black Man In A White World’, Love & Hate feels like a significant step forward.

  • The 1975 - I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it (Explicit)Contains explicit content
    • 16-bit FLAC

    Riling #realmusic fans everywhere, The 1975 successfully straddled the worlds of rock and pop with their debut, earning both the prime chart positions and big money festival slots to prove it. This much-hyped follow-up will doubtless do little to please indie purists. Even slicker and more synth-driven than its predecessor, the heaviest I like it when you sleep... ever gets is the glammy, INXS-inspired ‘Love Me’. However, from the rave-piano bounce of ‘The Sound’ to the tear-stained shimmer of ‘Somebody Else’, there are enough earworms to guarantee the quartet continued success.

  • Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
    • 16-bit FLAC

    Where a mutual affection for Warp Records has directed much of Radiohead’s output post-OK Computer, A Moon Shaped Pool finds Britain’s best band combining their love for experimental electronica with a set of influences that extend from Solid Air-era John Martyn to Erased Tapes-esque contemporary classical music. As a result, this relatively serene, frequently string-led, ninth LP often feels like the calm after the electrical storm that was The King Of Limbs. That it’s no less innovative or engaging is largely thanks to Johnny Greenwood’s intricate arrangements and producer Nigel Godrich’s deft use of layering, both of which really shine on songs like ‘The Numbers’, ‘Daydreaming’ and ‘Present Tense’. It’s a real treat to hear long-time live-favourite ‘True Love Waits’ finally committed to tape too.

    • 16-bit FLAC

    If the prospect of an album critiquing ecocide, surveillance culture, US defence policy and the brutality of drone warfare doesn’t sound like the most joyous way to spend 40 minutes, we urge you to put your preconceptions aside: this is a beautiful, powerful and inexplicably uplifting protest record. Written in collaboration with Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never, Hopelessness is a far cry from the pastoral indie-folk of Anohni’s work with Antony and the Johnsons, and her previous collaborations with Hercules and Love Affair. And yet, the album’s elastic beats, doomy subs and euphoric synths prove the ideal vehicle for Anohni’s soulful melisma, and bring an added sense of urgency to her searing missives. Quite astonishingly brilliant.

  • Bat For Lashes - The Bride
    • 16-bit FLAC

    A decade on from her debut, Natasha Khan continues to acquit herself as one of the UK’s brightest musical talents with an ambitious concept record centred around doomed nuptials. Khan is convincing as the titular bride-to-be – widowed prior to the wedding – and delivers a sensitive portrayal of the ensuing emotional fall-out. The Bride is intended to soundtrack a feature film, and it shows in the cinematic arrangements, be that the Angelo Baladamenti-esque ‘Close Encounters’ or the eerie sound design that encircles Khan’s soliloquy on ‘Widow’s Peak’. In keeping with the sombre subject matter, this is also a markedly more subdued set than The Haunted Man, but what the album lacks in energy it more than makes up for in exquisitely beautiful songwriting.

  • Jamie Woon - Making Time
    • 16-bit FLAC

    Hotly-tipped in 2011 alongside the all-conquering James Blake, Jamie Woon released a strong debut and then all but disappeared, save a sublime collaboration with Portico. Seconds into this long-awaited follow-up, you’re instantly reminded why the West Londoner was so lauded in this first place. Combining smooth, supple vocals and subtle, jazz-inspired arrangements, Making Time is made up of the sort of minimalist electro-soul that stealthily seeps into your subconscious and steadfastly refuses to budge. It takes courage to create music that doesn’t clamour for attention, and Woon’s creative approach rewards patient listeners, offering up startling gems like Willy Mason-collaboration ‘Celebration’ and the silky, afterhours grooves like ‘Sharpness’.

  • Kano - Made in the Manor (Explicit)Contains explicit content
    • 16-bit FLAC

    More than a decade on from his debut, and six years on from Method to the Maadness, Kano blazes back with a fifth LP that proves he’s lost none of his power to impress nor his desire to experiment. Made In The Manor finds the former N.A.S.T.Y. Crew-member reflecting on his East London upbringing – recounting the streets he roamed, the characters he met, and the scrapes he survived – and inviting a diverse array of guest collaborators to join him on the journey. Whether sparring with fellow grime stars Giggs and Wiley on ‘3 Wheel-ups’, sharing airtime with Damon Albarn on the melancholic ‘Deep Blues’, or representing solo on the aptly-titled ‘New Banger’, the East Ham son reinforces his pedigree as one of the UK’s most compelling MCs, with seemingly effortless ease.

  • Savages - Adore Life (Explicit)Contains explicit content
    • 16-bit FLAC

    Back in January of 2015, Savages staged a nine-date residency in New York to road-test new material. Each performance was filmed and subsequently scrutinised by the quartet, and songs were fine-tuned accordingly. This thorough approach is now paying dividends, because not only is Adore Life entirely flab-free, it’s also imbued with the confidence that comes with basing creative decisions on empirical evidence. From the visceral punk-aggression of ‘T.I.W.Y.G.’ and ‘The Answer’ to the epic melancholia of ‘Adore’, the follow-up to Silence Yourself firmly cements Savages as one of Britain’s most vital guitar bands. A second Mercury Prize nomination beckons.

  • The Comet Is Coming - Channel the Spirits
    • 24-bit FLAC
    • 16-bit FLAC

    For the purposes of The Comet Is Coming, keyboardist Dan Leavers, drummer Maxwell Hallett, and Sons of Kemet-saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings operate under the Mighty Boosh-ish pseudonyms Danalogue The Conqueror, Betamax Killer and King Shabaka. Song titles like ‘Journey Through The Asteroid Belt’ and ‘New Age’ sound a little like Boosh plotlines too, but their cosmic strain of improv jazz bears a far closer resemblance to Sun Ra, Pharoah Sanders and Funkadelic’s experiments than it does Howard Moon’s self-indulgent noodlings. If you’re seeking a mind-bending experience minus “chemical enhancements”, Channel The Spirits is the one.

Nearly made-its?

Previous winners